Skip to content

photo challenge ~ fear

February 16, 2011

This week’s photo challenge was “fear.”
Oh, the fears I have. Fear of dying, fear of failing, fear of time passing, fear of tragedy….
In the simplest forms, fear of gray hair, a flat tire when you’re in a hurry, a cooking recipe that disappoints, housework… The list can go on and on.
And over the years the things that scare me have changed. Things that I was afraid of once don’t seem so bad now-a-days. Like roller coasters, penguins (don’t ask) and sushi.
Yet, there is one fear that has plagued me since I was a little girl. Except for a few years in my twenties when I used my bed without a frame, I have always been afraid of things under my bed. In fact, my bed side lamp solves this problem every night. No flicking the light switch and running to leap into the bed for me. No, Mr. Riddle wouldn’t appreciate that very much. Instead, I push a button and I’m snug in bed when the room becomes dark and the beings under my box-spring awaken.
photo challenge ~ fear

Now I know if I actually lift the bed-skirt and look under there I will find nothing but dust bunnies and possibly a lost slipper or sock. Also, if woken in the middle of the night, I don’t even bother with the sad routine of making sure the lamp is on. How much sense does that make?
When I wake to let the dog out or check on a crying child with nightmares the act of walking right up to my bed in the dark without worrying about what’s under it is usually not an issue. The way I see it, I’m half awake. If they’re gonna get me, I surrender.

Maybe what’s under my bed is the total collection of all of my fears. All of those listed above and then some. So at night when it’s been a long day and the last thing I do before drifting to sleep is reach over and turn off that light, I’m aware that my fears from the day, the ones I’ve yet to tackle or face, are just waiting for me. To confront them at a time when I’m tired, thin skinned and weary is not an option.
Yup. I’m thinkin’ this is where those monsters live. Under my bed.

Now, you know what to do… Go ahead and visit the group page to see all of the other “fear” submissions. So much good stuff there.
As far as seeing which one I’m submitting, well, it’s a no-brainer this week.

Until next time,
~Victoria

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 12:39 pm

    Nice Post! I had that same fear when I was little. I really like the way you combined it all in your post… very nice.

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 16, 2011 1:01 pm

      A gracious thank you, my friend :)

  2. February 16, 2011 11:51 am

    I love the photo, V. I’ve always been skittish of things under the bed too. (I might have had a horrible nightmare a few weeks ago that caused me to crawl over the bed and exit on the hope chest… just in case.)

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 16, 2011 12:15 pm

      Uh oh, acting out your dreams, are ya? Isn’t it amazing how our brains work?
      Thanks for your generous comments :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A little self analysis a photo challenge entry ~ fear -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

