Skip to content

Scenes from a mail route

August 11, 2009

Some of you may know that I work part time as a rural mail carrier.
I have done this for a little over eight years.
Usually I enjoy doing this job. Especially this time of year when the dangers of snow and icy roads seem so far away.
These days on the route I look forward to driving mailbox to mailbox, air flowing through the vehicle, the smells of outside (good or bad), and the satisfaction of knowing that every stop gets me to my last stop.
Add to this the summer weather and it’s easy to appreciate the scenery that passes by my car window.

Below I share a few glimpses from one of the mail routes I work on:

Some days the clouds look close enough to reach out and touch

Other days I watch as they hover close to the ground threatening to rain at any moment

If I’m fortunate I get a close look at the animals on the route

Other days I must appreciate them from a distance

I followed this buggy into town one morning

Mostly it’s just me and the mailbox

And wild flowers. Lots of wildflowers. As you can see they wave as I pass.

You may wonder how I have time to take pictures when I’m zooming from box to box? Or you may think, “that’s why I don’t get my mail on time? My carrier is out there enjoying the scenery!”.
Let me assure you, postal employees work hard!
We are also entitled to a lunch just like everyone else that works the daily grind.
The combined seconds it takes me to snap a photo are way less than my alotted time for breaks.
Believe me, it all balances out, but thanks for asking.

Try to enjoy the scenery. no matter what you’re doing!
~Victoria

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 9:55 am

    It looks beautiful where you live!
    Yes, we should all appreciate the beauty that surrounds us : )

    • 6riddles permalink
      September 3, 2009 9:59 am

      I’m so glad you think so too!

  2. August 28, 2009 6:56 pm

    How beautiful!

    • 6riddles permalink
      August 28, 2009 10:51 pm

      Thanks a bunch for checking it out!

Trackbacks

  1. Scenes from a mail route in November… « 6riddles

Leave a Reply

