Skip to content

Scenes from a mail route in November…

November 24, 2009

As an homage to my initial post back in August I thought I would share a few glimpses of a mail route in Ohio on a cool November day.

As a rural carrier, I drive my own right hand drive vehicle. This offers a slightly different perspective from behind the wheel…

In the office, the mail gets sorted in the order it will be delivered…

Did you ever wonder how it was done?

For me, the best part is coming up… getting outside!

It can’t be all fun though, road hazards keep me on my guard…

To be honest I couldn’t tell if these folks really had an abundance of wild turkeys in their yard or it was the whiskey they were advertising.

If it wasn’t bird crossing, it was railroad crossing…

I was so thankful that despite the occasional wind, the day was mild…

On days like these I try not to think of the winter weather coming our way. Rather I make sure to enjoy the moment.

This guy…

was so shy. I’ve stopped at his house many times before and he never approached my vehicle. On this day when he was being extra curious, as soon as I aimed my camera at him, he decided to flee the scene.

On this particular route I know I’m in the home stretch when I see the school…

Also, my side view mirror is evidence of the mailboxes I’ve delivered to.

At one of the last boxes on the route…

I think back to earlier this year when this tree was full of leaves and the shade at this mailbox made a nice reprieve from the hot sun.

When I hit the last box I’m still not done. There’s a few more things that need to be done back at the office before I can go home. But, it isn’t long before I’m on my way home with the satisfaction that everyone received their mail. Be it bills, unwanted “junk”mail (that’s a curse word for us mail people), packages, magazines, newspapers or my personal favorite, greeting cards, I have personally placed those items in the residents mail box where it will be picked up. I know when I get home my mail will have been delivered by my carrier.
I hope she left me something good!

Until next time,
~Victoria

This post is part of the 30 minute challenge going on over at steady mom.
My post time for this post was 50 minutes! I hate to point blame at anything, but with phone calls for play dates and puppy madness I just couldn’t get it done within the timeframe And this was with a plan on what I would post about. Oh, well. Please forgive me all of my challenge friends!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 9:59 pm

    It’s nice to get a glimpse of someone else’s little corner of the world. Thanks for your hard work :)

    • Victoria permalink*
      December 1, 2009 10:21 am

      You are very welcome.

  2. November 25, 2009 11:21 pm

    What a great idea for a post, though! We forgive you for taking longer than 30 minutes. :)

    • Victoria permalink*
      November 27, 2009 7:02 am

      Whew!…. good. I appreciate the encouragement :)

  3. November 24, 2009 5:49 pm

    That is such a cool post… I love the “Day in my life-ness” about it!!! You take care and have a greta Thanksgiving!

    • Victoria permalink*
      November 24, 2009 7:18 pm

      You have a great Thanksgiving also. Many thanks!

  4. November 24, 2009 2:18 pm

    What a creative post!!! I love the school!

    • Victoria permalink*
      November 24, 2009 7:17 pm

      Isn’t that old school great? It looks a lot like the one I went to.

Leave a Reply

