Skip to content

Counting down

December 1, 2009

With my craft closet spilled out across the family room floor, I figured what better time to start a project?
Everything I need is right there… in the pile…. on my family room floor….
I’ll spare you the sight of all my crafting supplies sitting patiently, waiting to be returned back to their proper place on the new shelving that is way over due.
And as I mentioned, with everything so accessible, I decided to work on a little project for the holiday season.

Last year I discovered the fun of having an advent calendar. I think I purchased one on clearance a few days into December.
Looking for some ideas to make my own I found some that would be easy to do, but being the type of gal that thinks of things last minute, I needed one that could be put together quickly.

Thankfully, I found one on a great blog called Just something I made.
Yesterday afternoon I set out for the supplies and managed to find everything that was needed for the project.

Materials:
A sewing spool thread stand

wooden spools

and the template for the labels found on the above named website.

From my pile of craft stuff I found, rather dug out, my paper cutter, Modge Podge, and some stickers. Oh, and my handy, dandy label maker!
Let the fun begin!
To make the labels a little more durable, ’cause my kids don’t know the word ‘gentle’, I slapped a good coat of Modge Podge on the sheet of labels before I cut them out.

Solanna put stickers on one side of the spools…

Uh… no, dear, I don’t think they’ll stick to your freshly scrubbed head…

Before wrapping the labels around the spools I used my handy dandy label maker to print out the activity for each day…

Activities like make Christmas cookies, take a ride to see the holiday lights, sing a Christmas carol and have a sweet treat and my favorite, lay under the Christmas tree and gaze at the lights.

Voila!

Solanna spent some time shuffling the spools around in the order she wanted them. She is anxiously waiting for later this afternoon when her brother and sister will be home to open the first one.

And because I like power, control, authority and I misplace things in a heartbeat, the paper with the key to all the days of December is tucked away in my fireproof safe.

Please don’t let me lose those keys!

For more advent calendar ideas go here.
Until next time,
~Victoria

This blog is part of the 30 minute blog challenge over at Steady Mom.
Post time: 35 minutes. That’s pretty good for me. It helps when you lock the door, shut off the phone and ignore your puppy chewing up the craft supplies strewn about the family room floor.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 12:37 am

    THIS. MADE. MY. DAY.

    I love the ModPodge idea. I love that you added the clues to the spools before wrapping so you can reuse the wraps year after year. I love the little stars and the little star engineer.

    You took my project to a wonderful new level. Such a nice ending to a really tough day for me.

    • Victoria permalink*
      December 3, 2009 7:06 am

      Thanks for checking it out!
      I’m sorry to hear that your day was so challenging, yet glad that I was able to give you a smile.

      Hope the rest of you’re week is better :)

  2. December 2, 2009 12:27 am

    That is very very cute!!! What a good job!!!

  3. December 1, 2009 5:00 pm

    This is such a cute idea!

  4. December 1, 2009 10:09 am

    Fun idea! I need to find something even simpler! & not just chocolate!!!

Leave a Reply

