Skip to content

Willie Nelson on my mind…

December 16, 2009

Today’s post is to share the adventures of participating in the photo challenge over at Flickr.
I use the word “adventures” lightly. It’s not as if taking the pictures for the assigned theme was hazardous.
Well, maybe a little. Timing traffic to stand in the middle of the road to set up my camera probably is a little precarious. But, I live in the country. We can see WAAAY down the road!

I did enjoy this theme though. My first thoughts on this week’s assignment were that I would possibly do something about all the roads I travel on for work. Being a rural mail carrier I know roads well. Yet, it didn’t go in that direction. Actually, I had the opportunities to just take a walk with my doggies or a drive on cold winter mornings and choose a way to set up a shot. All pleasure, no work, no complaints. Not even about the cold.
So, on my first outing I took a short walk with our puppy hoping to catch her in full sprint mode. Her floppy ears just kill me. That didn’t work out so good. All I got was this…

and this…
hint: look to the left

She’s seven months. I suppose in dog years that’s somethin’ like puberty for her so, she was being difficult. It figures.

I do like this one…

When I look at it I envision a tiny bug to walk in from the side to pop out and wave. Hola! Did I ruin a moment for you? Sorry.

Other attempts gave me this…

And this…

The whole time in my mind is Willie’s song…”on the road again, goin’ places that I’ve never been…”

I think this…

was my favorite spot. With all the combines on the roads this past harvest season, some of the roads around here are a little worse for wear.
It makes for interesting views…

Finally, on our annul Christmas tree hunt I took a few shots…

There you go… now which do I submit? Go to the Flickr group to find out.

Until next time,
~Victoria
P.S. Do you still have Willie’s song in your head? Sorry ’bout that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. katie o. permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:49 pm

    oh my gosh, your shots are all incredible. i love how each one carries its own feeling…the textures are all so unique! love these shots. I’m still not sure how you decided on one to submit when all of them are equally fantastic.

    • Victoria permalink*
      December 16, 2009 9:56 pm

      Thanks, Katie. I appreciate the encouragement. This photo challenge is helping me to look at things from a different perspective.

      • katie o. permalink
        December 16, 2009 10:06 pm

        I love seeing how you guys cozied up on the asphalt to take some great pictures. I only wish I hadn’t gotten the challenge weeks mixed up. I took a photo of feet, not road. Oh well. :)

        • Victoria permalink*
          December 16, 2009 10:32 pm

          Oh, no!!! Well, I can’t wait to see your shots for next week’s theme. And I’m sure you could post something for road still.
          Me, I’m a little anxious about the feet theme. Got some ideas a brewing though.

Leave a Reply

