Skip to content

A pledge

January 2, 2010
tags: ,

Recently in my daily blog readings I came across a link that took me to a site with an idea to make some small changes in an effort to make a green impact in our world.
I really liked this idea and decided to raise my hand and volunteer for the project.
I’m not one to make New Year’s resolutions, but I figure the attempt to stay aware of my and my family’s use of this planet’s resources and learning how to preserve them would be a proper way to start the new year.


So, for the month of January I resolve to strictly enforce the “no paper towel or paper napkin” rule in my home.

My husband still has a some kind of hard-to-let-go attachment to those fat rolls of white paper and sometimes I find that he sneaks a roll into the house. It’s as if he’s placed the solution to every spill, splash, and drip in our kitchen. Everyone grabs for that roll of paper towels when I have a perfectly good kitchen towel hanging in easy reach. What gives?

Oh, okay, I’ll admit that I have a small supply of throw away napkins in my pantry. I’ll bring them out for parties and get-togethers for when folks look at me kind of funny when I tell them “there’s a basket of cloth napkins right there.” I suppose they are looking a little shabby and the ones that were originally white are now faded and stained.
Maybe, what I should do is make a point to have some nicer ones out for parties and get-togethers. Maybe, instead of odd looks people will feel so tickled that I’ve brought out the good napkins just for them, they’ll forget all about using those stiff paper squares.

Now, some of you out there might think I’m slightly nutty for taking this challenge. I have a neighbor who often criticizes my “green” ways. My children sometimes roll their eyes and sigh when I remind them to “recycle it!”
But, I ask that you take a look and read through the list at the end of this post. Everyone can do their part!
Do it to save money on consumables that you think you need but could find a better way. I figure that I save a lot of $$$ by not buying expensive rolls of paper towels.
Do it to change your family’s way of thinking about the environment.
Do it ’cause you haven’t made a New Year’s resolution yet.
If for no other reason, do it ’cause other decent folks out there are making an effort and you should be doing the same.

Wish me luck on my endeavor and let me know what you have decided to do to make a difference.

Happy New Year,
~Victoria

In case you missed the link above, and you would like to make a change yourself here is the blog where I found this idea. Good Luck.

Recycle, use cloth napkins, try cloth diapering, replace your bulbs with LED or CFL bulbs, turn off your lights, use natural cleaning products or make your own, drive your car less, buy a hybrid, turn your thermostat down, use the sun to warm your home through passive solar heat, bring your own bags to the store, install a low flow shower head, stop buying bottled water, unplug it, bring more plants into your home, always print double sided, when getting rid of things consider freecycle, craigslist or ebay (do not throw out as someone else is surely able to get some use out of it), support local farms and try to eat local, purchase wind power if it is available in your area, purchase products made with natural materials and that can be reused, purchase recycled paper products, use rags instead of paper towels to clean up messes, use reusable lunch sacks, buy organic, landscape responsibly by reducing the use of water needed, donate time and/or money to green efforts, elimate the use of toilet paper by using family cloths, don’t flush every time, put a brick or something heavy in the back of your toilet so it uses less water when flushed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 10:38 pm

    I love this entry!!!! These are great thoughts. I can tell you are enjoying your new camera and the IMAGES show it!

    Happy New Year to you dear friend.

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 5, 2010 11:08 pm

      Yes, I do love my new camera.
      And thanks for stopping in. You are ALWAYS encouraging.

      Happy New Year to you as well :)

  2. Victoria permalink*
    January 5, 2010 10:04 am

    Thank you for hosting this challenge! Thanks to Soule Mama for the link to get there.

  3. January 4, 2010 6:58 pm

    Thanks for joining the challenge! I think it is a great idea to not use paper napkings or paper towels! I used to always use paper napkins when we had company over, but I recently got over it. I got some new nice napkins for xmas and will use these when people come over. In fact on New Years eve our friends came over and oohhed and ahhhed at the cute napkins!
    Thanks also for encouraging others to join!
    Suzy

Leave a Reply

