Skip to content

Five and a half…

January 5, 2010

My daughter is good company…

She cheers us on…

She has her own style…

She keeps me guessing…

She makes me laugh…

She warms my heart…

Today she is celebrating her five and a half birthday at school. Being born in July is great, but it also has disadvantages. With my own summer birthday I remember being disappointed that I didn’t get to bring cupcakes in to share or have a birthday party to invite my school friends.
I am so thankful for Solanna’s teacher who has a solution. She celebrates the half birthday.
So, today, being the first day back from winter break, she took cupcakes to class, she gets to wear a birthday shirt and crown and I know when she comes home she’ll be so excited to tell me all about it.

Happy Five and a half birthday, Solanna!

Until next time,
~Victoria

This post is part of Steady Mom’s 30 minute blog challenge.
Post time: 25 minutes.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 9:55 am

    I didn’t want to put all the info out there on MY blog about our solution, because my one of my good friends is the other girls’ mom, & I thought she might just happen to check the blog. Also, the solution is somewhat specific to our situation, but here it was:

    Her BEST friend in the world has a younger sister that is 2.5 years younger than them. Ana’s friend wanted to start excluding the younger sister, who Ana like a lot. The “little sister” has very few friends except Ana. She starts Kindergarten next year, when we hope she will make some new friends. Ana & I talked about it, & decided she would talk to her best friend & remind her that the little sister will make new friends next fall when she starts school. Ana asked her if they could wait to make their “club” exclusive until that time, & her best friend said yes. Whew!

    Does that make sense?

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 7, 2010 9:54 am

      Yes, that makes sense. Great solution.
      Thanks for getting back to me on that. The politics of friends at school just amazes me!!!

      ~Victoria

  2. Barbara permalink
    January 6, 2010 9:44 am

    Let’s hope she doesn’t change too much as a teenager. I’m very lucky Kyla and I are still close. She even has that black hat that Solanna is wearing in 2 of her pictures.
    In Kyla’s case though, she had a 1/2 birthday party in the summer so she could have a pool party for her friend.

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 7, 2010 9:57 am

      I’m hoping that we will have as good a relationship as you and Kyla. But, that means I have to do as good a job as you Aunt Barb in the raising:)

      The hat!!! Did Kyla wear hers EVERYWHERE also? I don’t ever remember seeing it.

  3. January 6, 2010 3:23 am

    Oh what a sweetie… I am so glad she liked her half birthday!!! My sister has a midsummer birthday (5 January) and hates it because school was always out. Just the other day my six year old came home from a friend mortified that his friend (who is a really trying character!!!) was six and a half and he was only six… Actually their birthdays are three days apart and his mortification quickly became elation when he discovered that he was six and half too!!! Aren’t kids so cute!!! Have a great week all of you!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 7, 2010 9:59 am

      Oh, I laughed out loud at your six year old!
      And I forget that things are the opposite down there aren’t they?
      ~Victoria

  4. January 5, 2010 10:16 pm

    That’s one smart and sensitive teacher! Birthdays are such a big deal at that age. And then you grow up and forget- “How old am I turning this year??”

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 5, 2010 11:13 pm

      I forget also! I have to do the math in my head: “What’s 2009 minus 1973?”
      And I really like her teacher. She is one of the great ones! I am finding out how lucky Solanna is to be in her class.

  5. January 5, 2010 6:56 pm

    Love that green, pink and red outfit!

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 5, 2010 11:13 pm

      She pulls it off doesn’t she? :)

  6. January 5, 2010 4:14 pm

    That’s such a great idea for those summer birthdays!

    Happy “five & a half” to your sweetie!

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 5, 2010 11:14 pm

      Thank You. She came home from school in the best of moods and lots to talk about.

Leave a comment