Skip to content

In a fog

January 12, 2010

The digital atomic clock says 6:50 pm.
The day is almost over and my lower back feels like I’ve been run over by a snow plow.
I know what this is. And maybe you do too.
Say it with me…p…m…s.

This morning I looked forward to posting something inspiring and full of humor, yet when I sat down the words didn’t flow. None of the photos I had originally picked for this post seemed quite right. A few times I started then trashed a draft.
It’s as if a thick fog is resting behind my eyes.
I’m thankful that it isn’t so debilitating that I couldn’t enjoy dinner with my family or laugh at the funny stories the kids were eager to tell. There have been times in the past that I have burst into tears at the thought of a childhood memory. Or turned livid at laundry being folded the wrong way.
I don’t need to tell you that I’m not proud of these moments.
But, our demanding puppy knows I’m running on a short fuse and has found a place to stay out of the way. Her grumpy owner really yelled when someone was caught trying to get a taste of something off the counter. And oh, how I still want to join in on Steady Mom’s blog challenge that I participate in every Tuesday.

Now, I don’t mean to complain or discourage anyone who stopped by to read this blog.
Nor am I looking for sympathy. I know I’m not the only female that has suffered from these symptoms.
It’s just that I’m confident that you would understand days like these.

Days when all you want to do is curl up with an easy to read, comforting book and a cup of hot tea. Yet dinner still needs to get done. The firewood has to be stacked. The driveway cleared of snow. The nice, talkative, well-meaning, older neighbor needs a ride a mile into town to pick up her vehicle from the mechanic. And somebody has to clean up that chicken carcass from the kitchen floor before the older dogs join in.

So you persevere. You keep on moving ’cause that’s what needs to be done. Normally you don’t complain but today you look for encouragement and enlightenment from other women who might understand. Thanks for being there.

~Victoria

If you would like to share one of your memorable PMS days with me go right ahead.
Where else can you find that kind of invitation?

This post was part of the 30 minute blog challenge over at Steady Mom.
Blog time: 40 minutes due to said puppy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 2:11 am

    This too shall pass… I tell you the things we are called to survive… I hope you are feeling bright and breezy by the weekend!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 13, 2010 8:56 am

      Thank you se7en. Today seems like a better day :)

  2. Nikolle permalink
    January 13, 2010 1:46 am

    Thanks for sharing Victoria. I totally know where you’re coming from. We all fight the beast within us. Some months I’m lucky and the evil stays subdued, other months I feel I could kill someone over leaving socks in the living room. I don’t have any specific stories in mind… I just hate when I feel piping mad and I know I have no reason to feel that way. To top it off getting asked “what’s wrong?” whether it’s at work or home seems to make things worse when I should appreciate the consideration. I just want to confirm your honest humanity. You are not crazy just trying to be mom/ wife and superwoman. Some days everyone we are trying to be at once won’t always work out, but persevere you will. Love ya Sis-in-law

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 13, 2010 8:59 am

      >>>LOVE IT!<<< Thanks for sharing. And yes, why is it so maddening when someone asks that question?
      Ha! The beast from within.

      Love to you SIL!

  3. January 12, 2010 11:49 pm

    Oh, you made me lol! I can so relate-well, except for the dead chicken carcass!

    Hope you have a better day tomorrow!

  4. January 12, 2010 10:21 pm

    I so enjoyed the chicken carcass comment. Went to bed last night jolly and cheery. But this morning…. I too am in a PMS fog.

    It helps to remind myself that my feelings are not to be trusted right now. It’s also not the time to tutor my 15 on modal verbs.

    • Victoria permalink*
      January 13, 2010 9:16 am

      I like the way you put it. Our “feelings are not to be trusted right now”. That’s exactly how I feel!

Leave a Reply

