Skip to content

Six more weeks…

February 2, 2010

According to Punxsutawney Phil, we are in for six more weeks of winter.

This is just fine with me.
I know folks are gonna think me crazy. Can’t say I blame them.
Later, I might even think so myself.

The truth is: I really like winter.
Being of mexican decent who would have thought that I would enjoy the snow and cold so much? Maybe my distant ancestors are from Chihuahua, Mexico where it gets cold enough to snow?
Or, probably the fact that I have been a Ohioan my whole life and this time of year brings cold and snow. Being a creature of habit, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Regardless of any reason, I am okay with winter.

Yes, this means we definitely have to go out and cut wood to replenish the wood pile.
Yes, the plow will still stay mounted to the front of the truck.
Yes, work means delivering mail with cold hands and a wind burned face.
And yes, the mountain of cold weather gear will still hang in the foyer waiting to participate in our day.

But (and this is a big but),
Cutting wood burns calories and according to Mr. Riddle it also counts towards family bonding time…

“I’m just sayin’ “
Since learning how to use the snow plow I have one more excuse to go out and play in the white stuff…

The road challenges caused by the winter weather make for beautiful landscape…

And all of those hats, mittens, snow pants, and boots need to get as much use as possible ’cause these kids are growing so fast…


Well, all but one of those kids is growing, but he’s determined to wear out those ski pants.

Thanks for visiting my attempt at looking on the bright side of that groundhog’s dreary prediction. Hope you are doing the same:)
Happy Groundhog’s day,
~Victoria

This post is part of Steady Mom’s 30 minute blog challenge held every Tuesday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    February 3, 2010 6:43 pm

    Just let the Kid that stopped growing have a good time,you two can afford a new pair of snow pants for the big fellow..Have a great time Eddy love you guys& girls Denise

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:41 am

      You still know how it is don’t ya, Denise?

  2. February 3, 2010 4:12 am

    Oh that snow looks so fun!!! My kids have never even seen snow and yours live in it!!! Have a fun cold week!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:43 am

      Never? Ever, ever? If you ever want to come to the states to see snow, you are welcome here!!!
      How ’bout you? Have you ever seen it?

Leave a Reply

