Skip to content

Calm before the storm

February 9, 2010

According to the national weather service a winter storm is forecasted to dump at least twelve more inches of snow on us by tomorrow.

Schools were cancelled when I woke at 6:30 am.
Yesterday on a visit to my local library I was notified that the afternoon reading program would be cancelled.
A trip to the grocery store was made for staples and ice cream. Priorities.
Mr. Riddle explained to us last night around the dinner table that if our area was annnounced as a Level 2 snow emergency he would put “Operation Homesafe” into action. Meaning: he would head home safely and swiftly before it was announced as a Level 3.

With all of the planning and talk of the storm coming our way it seemed that there was no calm before the storm.
Until ten minutes ago.

When I started this post the young ‘uns were still sleeping.
For a brief but lovely stretch of time I enjoyed a semi-quiet home. There were the sounds of wood cracking in the fire, fans pushing heat through the house, coffee brewing, and every once in a while I could hear the clicking of a dog walking on the wood floor. I know they know that it is time to wake up.
During this time I have thought of how we would spend our day being snowed in. Maybe we’ll make pancakes for breakfast. Hopefully I’ll get everyone excited about making valentines. And of course, some playing in the white stuff is a given. I know this for sure: the first person to turn the television on will be disowned and ordered to start cleaning a bathroom!
Update: no syrup! What else can you put on pancakes? Ice cream?

How is the weather in your part of the world and how will you spend your day?

Happy Tuesday,
~Victoria

This is part of Steady Mom’s 30 minute blog challenge.
Post time: 40 minutes. An explanation of the days events and consoling of a disappointed teenager put me a little over.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 11:08 pm

    Well this is too late to help but you can make “syrup” with 2 cups sugar and one cup water in case you are still snowed in and still want pancakes.

    Just bring to boil ingredients to boil and stir briefly until clear. If you have maple flavoring you can add it or vanilla or a handful of strawberries or blueberries. My kids like it plain.

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 12, 2010 10:13 am

      Thanks for the recipe. My husband says that’s how his mom used to make it!

  2. February 10, 2010 5:38 am

    Good grief – I had no idea people got snowed in , in this day and age!!! It looks so beautiful!!! We are so hot we are dying, the nights are sticky and sleepless!!! And I don’t mind it… I dread the cold I am a real cold whimp and just shut down in my cocoon!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 12, 2010 10:12 am

      Isn’t it crazy? And to think, folks in other places got a lot more snow than us!

  3. February 9, 2010 4:02 pm

    wow, that sounds so cozy! We’re sunny and warm here in Costa Rica. p.s. pancakes are good with peanut butter, or honey! :)

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 9, 2010 6:12 pm

      Costa Rica!!! Wow! Sunny and warm sounds great :)

  4. February 9, 2010 11:06 am

    My hubby came home early, too. Of course, he still had to shovel out the sidewalks and driveway, so it wasn’t much of a break for him.

    Being snowed in can make you crazy or cozy. Sounds like you’re choosing cozy! I like peanut butter and bananas on pancakes… but ice cream sounds WAY better!

    Found your post from Steady Mom.

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 9, 2010 6:10 pm

      Yummm. I’m going to have to try the peanut butter. And I love bananas in the pancakes.
      My kids aren’t very adventurous with their pancakes though. They like them sans any kind of extras!

  5. February 9, 2010 8:49 am

    Sounds like we’re getting your storm today/tomorrow. Our schools have been canceled for the week and I wish I had know we were going to have another winter break…I would have been better prepared.

    • Victoria permalink*
      February 9, 2010 6:08 pm

      I have a feeling that we will be in for the week also.
      I think no matter how much you try to prepare, the weather always makes things challenging.
      Hope things go well in your neck of the woods.

Leave a Reply

