Skip to content

Taking it easy

March 2, 2010

For a number of reasons, I am revisiting my post from last Friday.
One of them being a sinus infection threatening to creep to my ears and the plan is to take it easy today.
Here it is…
******************************************************************************
marshmallows and toothpicks

Happy Friday!
~Victoria

Part of SouleMama’s “moment” post.

******************************************************************************
For the original post here’s the linky-lou: Feb. 26 2010 post

Last Friday Soule Mama offered an opportunity to share a moment with her and everyone that visits her site by leaving a link in the comments. Forgive me for assuming that you know who Soule Mama is and have visited her site yourself. If you haven’t been, please do. I visit her daily and am always inspired.

After posting my moment I got some wonderful responses from folks that loved the marshmallow and toothpick activity. My favorite being this post: Jackie’s Place
Even though the post is written in Russian I thought it was wonderful to see her son’s creation. Don’t you think her photos are beautiful?

I really liked this activity as well. And I must admit that I borrowed it from my daughter’s fabulous teacher. I visit the class every Thursday and help out wherever she needs me. Last week she had this activity set up at science table and it was thee place to be! I think she had to ask some of the students to let others have a turn. Everyone took their creation home and it was during the transfer that my daughter’s fell apart. After drying her tears (she was so proud of what she had made) I found our toothpicks and dug in the pantry for the marshmallows. She was happy when we built something better than what she had before.

What I didn’t know when Solanna created her structure was if we let it sit for a day the marshmallows harden and it held its shape. We hung it in a doorway and enjoyed it until Sunday night when it was accidentally knocked down and broken. Plans for a new one are in the makings.

So, if you need an easy and CHEAP activity I highly recommend this one. And if you do try it I would love to know how it went.

Happy Tuesday,
~Victoria
P.S. Beware of dogs anxiously waiting for stray marshmallows.

This post is part of Steady Mom’s 30 minute blog challenge.
Post time: 20 min.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 7:42 pm

    Totally cool!!! Of course!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 4, 2010 7:58 am

      Hi se7en! Let me know how it goes!

  2. March 3, 2010 1:39 pm

    We’ll be trying this one after the kids wake up from their naps. This is a perfect stuck-inside activity!

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 4, 2010 7:56 am

      I agree. It is a good activity when you can’t get out and about. Hope you have lots of fun with it!

  3. March 2, 2010 2:13 pm

    What a great idea!

    Praying you feel better soon!

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 4, 2010 7:55 am

      Thanks, Kim. I’m feeling better today. :)

  4. March 2, 2010 11:48 am

    Thank you so much for mentioning me!!! Great post, great blog! (Take care, stay healthy!)

    Jackie

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 4, 2010 7:53 am

      Thank You, Jackie. I appreciate your support :)

Leave a Reply

