Skip to content

family fun

March 23, 2010

Despite the fall-like weather in my part of the world today, it is spring.
Yeah! and Yeah! again.

And what better way to celebrate the arrival of spring than to go….

ice skating in BG
Ice skating?

Maybe it’s not the best way to celebrate spring, but it was on the schedule this past weekend.
So, we went. We had fun. One of us got injured trying to do a triple toe loop.
I won’t say who. Just know it wasn’t me. I’m not as crazy as my step-son.
My fall was without injury. I’m pretty proud of that.

And no matter how much they begged, we didn’t let them give up…
ice skating in BG

Come on! You can do it!
I felt bad for a little bit…
ice skating in BG

Truthfully, we really didn’t have to force this activity on the kids. They are pretty good at trying new things.
The best part was hearing Solanna say (after being terrified of falling and wanting to quit), “I guess this is fun.”

ice skating in BG

She even found the courage to get rid of the walker and skate with a friend. Unfortunately there are no pictures of this because by this time I was out on the ice and had made the right decision to not wear my camera in case I fell.

Back to the injury… We did have to leave early due to my step son falling pretty hard and to be on the safe side we took him to the ER when he told us his vision was getting blurry. Thankfully, everything was okay and as soon as they released him he asked to go get something to eat. Yup, I’d say that was normal.

Despite the scare, everyone voiced the the idea of going again.
I was just happy to be out there trying something new with my family. Spring is all about growth and renewal. We are on the right path.

Happy Tuesday to everyone,
~Victoria

This post is part of Steady Mom’s 30 minute challenge.
Post time: 20 minutes

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 5:37 pm

    Lots of life lessons on the ice!!! We used to skate a lot when we were kids and I haven’t thought of it since!!! My kids would probably love it… and it could well be the humbling experience some of them need!!!

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 26, 2010 8:58 am

      Yes indeed!
      It was so much fun.
      And isn’t it amazing how humbling sliding around a thin sheet of ice can make you?
      Though, I did see a few kids that looked like they had no fear and were trying to own that ice!
      I envied them as I hugged the wall :)

  2. Dennis permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:00 pm

    so much for not saying who fell!

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 26, 2010 8:55 am

      I know. I couldn’t help it.
      It was part of the adventure! And a lesson learned on everyone’s part.

  3. March 23, 2010 4:46 pm

    I’ve never seen the ice-walkers. Neat idea.

    E.R. visit aside it sounds like a fun outing:)

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 24, 2010 4:58 pm

      I agree. The walkers make it nice for little ones to learn. I think there were bigger ones for bigger kids/beginner adults too.

      We were brave and tried it without. But they were tempting :)

  4. March 23, 2010 2:51 pm

    It looks so fun – I grew up in the North and we did this all the time…

    • Victoria permalink*
      March 24, 2010 4:57 pm

      I would like to say we do this all the time. But, this has been a first time in years.
      Hopefully we can remember to take advantage of this ice arena so close to us.

      ~Victoria

Leave a Reply

