Skip to content

photo challenge ~ music

May 13, 2010

This week’s photo challenge theme is “music.”
With this week’s theme I resolve to attempt to see more “live” music.
There are so many musical artists I would love to see live. There was a time when I would travel for a couple of hours to see one of my favorite bands. The cost of events and other priorities have put a damper on that. Somehow I must do something about it ’cause this week a crowded, loud, attention grabbing, music event would have been wonderful! Instead I found “music” where I could.

At home…

music 5

ipod 1

ipod 2

And at my favorite local music shop.
music shop 3

music shop 2

Question: have you visited your local record store? Because they are still out there.
Yes, I have an ipod and every now and then I will download from itunes.
But there is nothing like walking in to a record store, listening to the music playing overhead, hearing the wood floors creak as you move on to the next bin, flipping through the selections, stopping at a particular album because of the cover artwork, overhearing a conversation between friends sharing their favorite musician, making a mental note to check that artist out myself, stopping at a listening station and pushing selection #7 ’cause even though you have no idea who it is, it’s your lucky number and maybe you’ll hear something good, remembering that the first album I purchased was Eddie Rabbitt’s “Driving My Life Away”, looking for it in the bins and remembering my first record player…… and just getting lost on a rainy afternoon. It is good for the soul, people. I’m just sayin’.

Now it is time to head over to the Flickr photo pool to see which one I submitted for shutterboo’s photo challenge. After that you must venture out, find your closest independent music merchant, walk right in and proceed to discover something new. Don’t forget to talk to the employees. They are so knowledgeable. Thank You.

Until next time,
~Victoria

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 8:30 pm

    Love that photo of your piano. The lighting is terrific! Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

