Skip to content

a coinky-dink

September 29, 2010

The littlest Riddle took part in her school’s mini cheer clinic. This involved a few hourly practices in the week..
mini cheer

and then a finale of performing at the Friday night, high school football game.
mini cheer

mini cheer

The weather was perfect. A mild, autumn evening with great light coming form the setting sun. I might add it was torture trying to stay focused on the task of getting a great shot of Solanna while the shadows were teasing me to come, get a better look.
mini cheer

It was a fun family event for all…
mini cheer

Despite the scary mascot.
mini cheer

This all leads to a story from last year when we attended this event. The weather was just as nice, family was there, and Solanna was just a wee bit smaller…
mini cheer

A few days after attending our first mini cheer event my husband was sharing stories with a coworker. The conversation turned to football and Mr. Riddle mentioned hat he had just attended a high school football game. The coworker (who we will label as Mr. D) said he also, had just been to a high school game.
Really? Which one, says Mr. Riddle.
Well, says Mr. D, my boy was playing an away game at Elmwood.
I was at that game, exclaims Mr. Riddle. My daughter was a mini cheerleader.
Mini cheer? That’s what that was? I wondered what the hell was going on. I was standing there watching the game and all of a sudden I’m surrounded by all of these little kids.
They were cheerleaders. Mini cheerleaders, explains Mr. Riddle.
Yeah, whatever. All I know is I was surrounded by them and I didn’t know what the hell was going on, says Mr. D.
And then, because the pipeline depends on them, they got back to work.

Later, maybe a few days later, Mr. Riddle tells me about this conversation and we laugh at this guy being caught in the sea of mini cheerleaders. I remember the chaos of all the little girls and trying to get a picture of Solanna in all of her cuteness. To myself I wonder if he’s in the crowd when I took those pictures.
Now, I’ve never met Mr. D. and I don’t know what he looks like. When my husband talks about people at work I mentally slap a generic head on them and try to visualize what they look like. Imagine my surprise when I actually meet these people and see that they look nothing like what my imagination created.

That evening while looking over the pictures I ask Mr. Riddle what Mr. D looks like.
Why?
Well, this one picture here.
And there he is. Mr. D in a grey, property of North Baltimore High School t-shirt…
mini cheer
and looking directly at our own mini cheerleader. True story.
Is that a coinky-dink or what? Life is weird people, life is weird.

Until next time,
Victoria

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 2:36 pm

    We call them coinkydinkies too…That sure was one…funny!

    • Victoria permalink*
      September 30, 2010 10:21 pm

      Ah… I’m not alone :) I have no idea were that phrase comes from. I do know that I can spell it as opposed to the real word… coincedence .. coence… coincidan…. coinky-dink it is :)

Leave a Reply

