Skip to content

the land of teen

October 5, 2010

I live with teenagers. For those of you who are familiar, you know that sometimes it is just a step above living with… a six year old. Only because the teenager can reach the places where I can not. Hee hee…. just kidding.

In the Riddle household there is the girl who is making her way out of her teens.
teens 7

At seventeen she is over the hump and has just a few years of teendom left…
teens8

There is the “newbie”…
DSC_4496
who, a year into his teens, is discovering how little his parents know…
DSC_4818

And then there is the budding teen…
teens 3
who could be considered a tween but come January, it will be official…
DSC_4814
and her parents won’t know anything either.

There is the moodiness, the drama, the butting of heads, and subtle power plays.
teen 13

And with every challenge that presents itself, Mr. Riddle and I try to handle it with the same reasoning we apply to our six year old. Isn’t it the same thing? Though there is at least six years difference between our youngest and the next oldest, there is no difference in the basic need to be led in the right direction.
teens 1

Never mind that they’d rather make the mistakes themselves. Between you and me, I have a lot of patience. I’ll be there when the other shoe falls. This lesson I learned from my parents. Forever grateful I am.
teens6

We are constantly getting to know these members of this family who are individuals themselves. Sometimes the getting to know them is frustrating, but mostly it is wonderful.
teens 2
I leave you with a few quotes to think about. They happen to be a couple of my favorite…

“Nothing has a stronger influence psychologically on their children than the unlived life of the parent.” ~ Carl Jung, psychiatrist

“No matter how calmly you try to referee, parenting will eventually produce bizarre behavior, and I’m not talking about the kids. Their behavior is always normal.” ~Bill Cosby

Until next time,
~Victoria

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 10:52 am

    I can’t imagine teen-hood yet, but I’ve heard there is quite a bit of drama. I know those tween years are really hard, because it is an awkward time of trying to figure yourself out. My littlest sister always throws the peace sign too. I love it. :-)

  2. October 13, 2010 1:00 pm

    I have an up and coming teen – he’s 12 right now…so your insights are appreciated…I love the Cosby quote too…

    • Victoria permalink*
      October 13, 2010 10:43 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Teresa :)

  3. October 5, 2010 4:45 pm

    I love your “tween” gives you thumbs up all the time. My 15 year old niece always throws up a peace sign. I’ve decided that kids are just strange.

    • Victoria permalink*
      October 6, 2010 8:32 am

      I get the peace sign too! I think she’s been trying to change it up a little bit.
      Yes, strange. You are right. And equally as wonderful. But strange should come first when describing them :)

Leave a Reply

