Skip to content

Wishing for a magic wand

November 5, 2009

See this little guy?

This is Wesley. He’s the son of wonderful friends of mine. I was fortunate enough to be there when his mamma was giving birth to him. Sometimes I’m lucky to have him to myself when the parents are working or need some alone time. Isn’t he a cutie?

He was the “Scarecrow” to Solanna’s “Dorothy” this Halloween.

See this kid?

He’s totally irrelevant to this story. I just loved his costume and the expression on his face when I took this picture. I asked his permission first and he was glad to oblige. He knows he’s got a great get-up. Must have modeled it after my dresser at home.

See this…. uh… blue, green and gray thing?…

It’s suppose to be a jacket. I’ve been working on this project for months. I started it in February with every intention of gifting it to Wesley for his 2nd birthday last month.

Now, I know what your thinking. What two year old kid would want a knitted jacket for his birthday?
He does. He’s a tactile kid.
I’ve taken him shopping with me before. He pulled balls of yarn off the shelf and surrounded himself with it. You’ve never seen a kid so pleased with himself! We’re kindred spirits.
So, he would be happy to wear this jacket. He’d have the same attitude as “dresser boy” up there.
“That’s right. I’m awesome”, he’d say.
Except, I can’t seem to finish it. I’ve hit a hump.
Sometimes that hump is more like a road block with all that needs to get done.
Yet, I feel bad about not getting this done. I’d like to give it to him before he outgrows it. Shame on me.
Hence, the wish for a magic wand.

Anyone dressed as a fairy godmother?
I think I see one. Hey you, way in the back! How much for the wand?

the above pictures were taken at our town’s Halloween costume contest. Dresser boy took first place in his age group.

Until next time,
~Victoria

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink*
    November 11, 2009 11:42 am

    I know, isn’t it great? I never got a chance to meet the person who did it.

  2. November 11, 2009 10:57 am

    wow, that dresser costume is fabulous. I’ve never seen anything like that before.

Leave a Reply

